Confound you Mr Brown, confound you!

by endlesspsych

Hmmmmm it seems highly likely all three of my predictions were wrong.

Mr Brown appears to have used a method at least slightly different from the ones I suggested yesterday.

However I have, like any good scientist or sceptic, a new theory..

Derren stands quite oddly for the duration with one hand writing on the board and the other held up to his face. He also appears to transfer the pen lid from one hand to the other…

My current contention us that the pen lid contains a smaller pen and that Mr Brown may have taught himself to write the same thing simultaneously and legibly with both hands… On the one hand he writes on the board and perhaps on the other he writes on some transparent stickers which, using his mastery of sleight of hand, he placed it on the balls as he revealed them. If I’m right then it’s an impressive feat of misdirection, ambidexterity and sleight if hand. An impressive and potentially satisfying explanation if true…

Aternatively, as some people have pointed out that the numbers on the balls probably weren’t written by human hand (perhaps they were writen with a cursed monkey paw?) the pen lid contains some form of stamp used to make the numbers look uniform…  Or perhaps I shouldn’t have dismissed one of my previous theories perhaps the back of the board Derren writes on is covered in stickers numbered 1 to 49… Invisible to the naked eye because they are black. Which Derren then removes and places on the balls by sleight of hand…

Unlike the many tech heavy explanations being offered ranging fromcamera trickery to miniature laser beams… Personally I both hope, and doubt, that technological wizardry is involved. As the “anyone could do that then” aspect would sort of ruin the magic for me. I would also be a dramatic departure from Derrens modus operandi… Mr Brown wants to impress us and I think that there are very few people who would actually be impressed by technological chicanery and trickery…

Essentially it’s not a good trick if anyone with a big enough budget and some fancy gadgets can do it…

Cheers.

